1. Welcome to No Deposit Forum! Please log in to continue. New members please register here. New Member Registration

I LOVE Free Stuff

Discussion in 'MODS CORNER' started by Sookie, Jul 11, 2014.

1. Sookie

Sookie Mother of Cats

I LOVE Free Stuff
    By Christina Applebaum

Let's face it. We're skeptics! We want to know something works before we put our money down. So what do I want? Samples! Samples, samples, samples!

I absolutely love free stuff. It doesn't matter so much what the item is so long as its free. This has become a bit of an obsession for me over the last 8 months. It started out innocently enough, a thimble full of some antioxidant juice or a piece of cheese on a toothpick at the grocery store, ...you know. Then I started learning what places often had free samples and when they usually had them and I would show up and make a little outing of it. (as you can tell I'm a really cheap date)

Then there are ones that are more "thrill samples" as I like to think of them. For instance, Costco. Now you have to have a members card to shop here, however they have to let all the public have access to the pharmacy inside by law - members or not. It is no surprise that like everything else you can buy there the prescriptions are also cheaper. So once a month while waiting for his prescription to be filled, I leave my other half sitting on the little bench by the pharmacy while I run amok in the store going from sample station to sample station, and as far as I have found there is no place with more samples any day of the week than Costco. It is a bitter sweet sampling session for me though for two reasons. 1. If I find something I really like and must have, I know I cannot purchase it without a members card and 2. Speaking of the members card that I don't have, I know the samples are "for members only". I sometimes imagine someone asking to see my members card while I'm snacking and when I can't produce one being told that I need to put the ravioli down.